How To: Close/Lockdown a User Login who has left

System Data associated pages pages icon System Data Overview pages icon System Data "How Tos"

Page approved.




When a user has left the company, they often remain as an active user with full rights. Ideally you should consider the following steps to make sure everything is correctly locked down.

  1. Open a System Data screen (show me how).
  2. Double click on [ System Data | Others | Users ].
  3. Press Alt+E or click the green triangle icon is the buttonbar's EDIT button to enter edit mode.
    • Focus on the user who has left and prefix their name with an X or Z so they appear at the bottom of any user lists in reports.
    • Tick the Unavailable checkbox so any call list based tasks are moved to a secondary user.
    • Un-tick the KPAF checkbox so you don't waste a post code licence lookup.
  4. Press Ctrl+S or click the disk icon is the button bar's SAVE button    to save.
  5. Focus on the user's name.
  6. Right click and set the following BtnEdit.jpg Edit User Permission attributes:
    • Tick:
      1. General
        Exclude: the user will not appear on the initial Khaos Control login screen. Ticking this option will also prevent this user from appearing in any dropdowns from that point on, other than in existing documents
      2. Stock
        Hide Buy Price: the user will not be able to see any stock buy prices.
      3. Special
        Restrict A/C Pay: the user will not be able to put any sales orders on account payment terms.
    • Un-tick: Every other checkbox! so they cannot do anything should they get in.
  7. Change the user's Password to one set and controlled by the System Administrator; preferably something complex so it cannot be guessed.
  8. Change the user's EPOS sign-on code to one set and controlled by the System Administrator.
  9. Click OK to accept the changes.
  10. Create a new Profile called, for example, 'Left' or 'Gone', and make sure there are NO enabled windows, ie the enabled windows dialog is empty.
  11. Apply the new Profile to the user who has left.


The above steps are the definitive 'belt and braces' procedure to closing a user within Khaos Control.


See Also

Visit KhaosWikiX at https://support.khaoscontrol.com/wiki_kcx/ to see the following:

Contact the Khaos Team