System Data User Permissions

Page approved.



For the Other Action Menu options (press F9 or the Other Actions Menu on the Button Bar) see System Data Other Actions Menu.


User Permissions - what you can do

User Profiles - what you can see


WARNING icon
WARNING: This procedure requires you to have Admin permission.

Each user can be granted permissions to access specific areas of the system. It is possible to define whether they are permitted to view, edit, delete or create new documents/records. Only an administrator is able to grant permissions. Where access is determined by a user's job title/description and there is more than one user in the role, instead of editing the user's permission, it may prove beneficial to create a User Profile(s). Below are links to some examples of user permissions and profiles:

User Permissions Dialog

The User Permissions dialog box.

Most of the areas on this pop-up window refer to specific areas within the system. Each area may be configured for the specific user.

When the adjacent checkbox is ticked in the areas listed below it enables the user to:

  • Open: open and view the screens associated with the area.
  • Edit: edit a record or document in the associated area.
  • New: create a new record or document in the associated area.
  • Delete: delete a record in the area but they can only do this if the record has not be used, i.e. it was created in error.

Those fields requiring further explanation are listed below against the option.

  • Password: user's password. This will always be displayed as ******, for security reasons.
  • User must change password at next logon: when ticked the currently selected user must change their password when they next logon.
    Note: the administrator can either enter the new password themselves, or selecting this option forces the user to change their password when they next login.
  • EPOS sign-on Code: login code to be entered by user to enable sign-on to the Khaos Control EPOS System. This user password has must note be too simple, for more details please goto any EPOS Password page.
  • The "Copy From" button allows permissions to be copied from one user to another. button: allows permissions to be copied from one user to another.

General

WARNING icon
WARNING: If Admin is ticked the user has FULL Open, New, Edit and Delete permissions regardless of where the respective checkboxes in each section have been ticked apart from the areas listed below.
  • Admin: users granted rights to all areas of Khaos Control including editing system values, user permissions and admin passwords. Please note that even if the Admin permission is ticked it does NOT automatically grant the following permissions:
    • System
      • No auto-Logoff
      • Print/Export grid
    • Sales Invoice
      • Open
      • Issue
      • Drag & Drop
    • Stock
      • Hide Buy Price
      • Upd.Sensit.Data (Update Sensitive Data)
    • Special
      • Auth Card
      • Refunds
      • Audits
  • HQ: users are granted rights to amend financial information on the [ Customer | Detail | Financial ] tab.
  • Excluded: excludes the user from accessing Khaos Control. Their user entry will be removed from the User selection dialog on the login screen and other user lookup filters within the Khaos Control system.
    Notes:
    1. In order to tick the excluded box you need to have Admin and HQ unticked.
    2. If ticked the user will not be available in the User drop down filters in the system, however they can be seen by right-clicking on the drop down and selecting 'Show All'. They will also be visible in all historical information such as documents and reports.
  • System Values: controls whether the System Values dialog can be opened. Only users with this permission enabled will be able to access System Values, even users with Admin permission will be unable to access the System Values screen if they do not have System Values permission.
  • Channels 2.0: controls whether the user can access Channels 2.0.
  • Edit Sys W/house: if ticked allows a non- Admin user to edit locations in a warehouse system.


Supplier

Allows the user to perform actions in the Supplier area of the system.
Note: if the Open option is not ticked then the user will NOT be able to open the Supplier section and will not be able to see supplier information in the following areas of the system:

Purchase

The options affect the Purchase Order, Delivery Note, Goods Received Notes (GRNs) and Purchase Invoice areas of the system.

Account

Allows the user to perform actions in the Accounts areas of the system.

Supplier Ret

Allows the user to perform actions in the Supplier Returns area of the system.

System

  • No auto-logoff:
  • EPOS Admin: allows the following reports to be printed from the [ EPOS | Print ] button:
  • Print / export grid:
    • TICKED: the user can export or print out the information in the grids.
    • UNTICKED: the 'Print Grid' will not be available to the user.

Customer

Allows the user to perform actions in the Customer screens.

Sales

Allows the user to perform actions in the Sales Orders area of the system.
Note: the user will only be able to create a new Sales Orders Sales - Edit option is also ticked.

Promotion

Allows the user to perform actions in the Promotions area of the system.

Repeat Ord

Allows the user to perform actions in the Repeat Orders area of the system.

Customer Ret

Allows the user to perform actions in the Sales Returns area of the system.
Note: if a user is required to process Customer/Sales Return then will also require the following permissions:

Sales Invoice

Allows the user to perform actions in the Sales Invoice area of the system.

  • Issue: enables the user to issue sales orders in the Sales Invoice Manager.
  • Drag & Drop: enables the user to drag and drop sales orders between stages in the Sales Invoice Manager.
    Note: unless the user is a system administrator it is generally recommended that the Drag & Drop option remains unticked.
  • Allow Repick: this option is used with Warehouse Location Control to allow users in the warehouse to use the repick-manual and repick auto options from context menu of the picking stage.

Stock

Allows the user to perform actions in the Stock area of the system. In addition to the standard options the following are available:

System Data

Allows the user to perform actions in the System Data area of the system.
Note: you can limit the screens that the user has access to using the System Data options in User Profiles.

Contact Mgr

Allows the user to perform actions in the CRM Manager area of the system.

Sales Sum.

Allows the user to perform actions in the Sales Summary area of the system.
Note: users will need this option ticked so they can view details in screens such as the [ Customer | Details |Customer Service ] sub tabs where customer service teams can find information about sales orders and customer order history.

Special

  • Auth Card
    • TICKED: enables the user to authorise credit cards payments.
    • UNTICKED: the user will NOT be able to authorise credit cards payments.
  • Refunds
    • TICKED: enables the user to authorise credit card refunds.
    • UNTICKED: the user will NOT be able to authorise credit card refunds.
      1. If you have Admin level permissions but do not have this option enabled you will NOT be able to refund credit card transactions.
  • Audit
  • Restrict A/C Pay:
    • TICKED: users will not be able to choose the account payment type on the [ Sales Orders | Detail | Payment ] screen when raising or editing Sales Orders. If the customer selected is an account customer, then this will be the default payment method, but if another payment type is selected in the sales order the user will be prevented from setting this back to account.
    • UNTICKED: the user WILL be able to select Restrict A/C Pay and toggle Account payment option.
  • Upd. Comp. Cls. (default=unticked)
    • TICKED: the user will be able to amend the Company Class of a customer in the system.
    • UNTICKED: the user will NOT be able to amend the Company Class of a customer in the system.
  • HHT User: this allows a user to use the HHT options, the password is set in the EPOS password fierld at the top of the dialog, for more information see How To: Setup HHT Users.

Purchase Invoice

  • Post
    • TICKED: the user will be able to post purchase invoices.
    • UNTICKED: the user will NOT be able to post purchase invoices.

Reports

  • Edit
    • TICKED: the user will be able to edit data query reports.
    • UNTICKED: the user will NOT be able to edit data query reports.

See Also

Visit KhaosWikiX at https://support.khaoscontrol.com/wiki_kcx/ to see the following:

Contact the Khaos Team